Reading: An Update

I’ve been rubbish at keeping this blogging thing up, and I feel upset I’ve let it slide (again). I think I’ve been struggling with reading (obsessively reading the news, but no books) and as a result, have felt like I’ve had nothing to blog about.

Anyway, I thought I would catch you up…

Book 7 of 2017: ‘Infernal Devices’ by Philip Reeve. This was everything that I could have wanted from the end to the quartet and it ended on the high I was hoping for. Loved it. Definitely cried at the end.

Book 8 of 2017: ‘The Mothers’ by Brit Bennett. I genuinely felt bereft at the end of this one. I think elements of this struck really close to the bone for me, and I found it genuinely heartbreaking. This was a book club choice. Also loved it.

Book 9 of 2017: ‘The Power’ by Naomi Alderman. Also a book club choice. Our book club doesn’t seem to be able to read anything but feminist books at the moment, which I am usually a-okay with, but recently I’ve been thinking maybe I should break out for some variety since they’d be my picks anyway. However, this concept is brilliant, and I went in with low expectations for this, although I’m not sure why because I thought the concept was great from the outset. I thought it was excellent. Great ideas, great writing. Challenged my thinking in some ways, affirmed them in others. Also loved this.

I’ve read a lot of books I’ve loved lately which has been nice. I’m currently working my way through ‘Moranifesto’ by Caitlin Moran so hopefully more on that later in the week…

Leave a Reply

