February To Read List

 

Safe to say, I’ve fallen firmly off the blogging wagon in the past few weeks, and actually off  the reading wagon. I haven’t blogged much, and I haven’t read much either. What I have read, I’ll post about later in the week, but, despite being about 2 weeks in already, I thought I would crack out what I’d like to read this month.

  1. The Mothers by Brit Bennett

51rstwbnrul-_sx329_bo1204203200_

The cover for this is gorgeous. It took me ages to realise there was a face in there, and it’s my job to design books. Rookie. It was this month’s book club book, and I really need to get on it. I’ve spoken to a couple of people and they’ve seemed in agreement that whilst it’s nothing groundbreaking, it’s a lovely story. I’ve read the first couple of pages and I’m intrigued so I’d like to finish up that.

2. Orlando by Virginia Woolf

618jida0e4l-_sx360_bo1204203200_

For a self proclaimed VW fangirl, I feel quite ashamed I haven’t actually read this. Whilst I didn’t put it on my reading resolutions this year, I would really like to get through Ms Woolf’s back catalogue (the shame that there is more than 1!), because the woman is a genius. I’m off to see Woolf Works tomorrow (the Royal Ballet’s ballet based on Mrs Dalloway, Orlando and The Waves) which I am over the moon excited about so I think I may be on a bit of a Virginia Woolf hype-train after that.

3. A Darkling Plain by Philip Reeve

219110-_uy500_ss500_

I’ve been loving this series. I’ve just finished up Infernal Devices and I am stoked to see how it ends.

4. The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

51nkiay9jml-_sx324_bo1204203200_

My boyfriend designed this book. It was Waterstone’s Children’s Book of the Month in January and everyone says it’s brilliant. I’ve had a beautiful proof copy for ages that I never started. What is my problem?! I need to crack on.

5. Born to Run by Bruce Springsteen

unknown

Similar vibe. The hype train was strong on this one. I borrowed my friend’s copy and I really need to get through it so I can give it back soon… Awkward.

Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Leave a Reply

