Book 5 of 2017: ‘To-morrow’ by Joseph Conrad

unknown

This was a strange little book – very emotive, a little bit of a rollercoaster. I find that Conrad can be very brutal with his characters, toying with them, and with you as a reader. He makes you fall in love, and then reveals the character as a scoundrel. Your hope is up, and then it’s utterly dashed at the end. Conrad isn’t afraid of an unhappy ending, that’s for sure. I’m left not really sure if I enjoyed this. I feel a bit disconcerted.

This title was one of the Penguin Little Black Classics, which are so cute. I love them. As with many of them, this was more of a short story. I find Conrad quite a task, one that involves a lot of thought and brain power, so I thought this was a good way to go back to reading some of his work, and I’m pleased I did. I’m not sure how long it’ll be until I read another title by him, however, given how long my ‘To Read’ list is at the moment…

Leave a Reply

