The Driver’s Seat by Muriel Spark

My mom recommended this one to me, and she usually has good taste in books. She wanted it back by this weekend, so I figured I best get cracking, and thankfully, it’s only 103 pages. Easy to whip through.

And whip through I did. It’s a pretty compulsive read. There’s a really close focus with lots of detail which I loved. I always want details. Everything felt very precise too which was really enjoyable to read. Like you’re being guided by someone who knows exactly what they’re doing, which of course is the point.

It’s a weird book. It left me with a lot of unanswered questions. ‘Why would anyone want that?’ is probably the most overarching one. It’s bizarre, and different from anything I’d read in a while which was refreshing. I have got to the end and do feel like I could do with reading it again, because I sort of feel like I’ve missed something – see earlier question for details, but again, I feel like that’s the point. And at the same time, I’m not sure I want to put myself through it… I did feel slightly nervous reading it and I couldn’t quite tell why.

A weird one, a challenging one (emotionally – it’s an easy read). It felt slightly out of my reading comfort zone, which felt strange because I didn’t even realise I was in one, but I enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

