Books I want to be reading #1; or the beginning.

I just said to my housemate that I wish I had more time. I’ve been messing around trying to start this blog for weeks. I wanted to start in a significant way, a big way, starting as I mean to go on, but as the weeks have gone past I realised that I just need to start. Somewhere. Anywhere…

Tonight I’ve stopped caring where.

I’ve also been wishing for more time to read. What with seeing things about people graduating, and having been to degree shows, I’ve been hella nostalgic for all the days I spent horizontal consuming as many pages as I could. So, without further ado, here is a list of shit I wish I was reading when I am doing other things (looking at you work, feeding myself, cleaning, maintaining friends, gah…)

  1. The Glorious Heresies by Lisa McInerney.
    I’d heard good things. I saw it in a book shop and the cover didn’t appeal to me so I didn’t pick it up. It’s won the Bailey’s Prize. I’ve heard more good things. I can override my judgement of the cover…
    Buy it here.
  2. The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock by Imogen Hermes Gower.
    So this isn’t out yet… It’s actually not out for bloody ages. I heard about it at work, so there’s clearly hype about this already. I love the premise though. The concept and the world sound banging, and I am intrigued. Sign me up in 2018…
    Read a chunk here.
  3. The Driver’s Seat by Murial Spark.
    My mum leant it to me yesterday. She said she would read it again. My mum has excellent taste in books. The copy she gave me.
  4. The Brief and Wonderous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz.
    Again leant to me by my mum. This one doesn’t have me intrigued like The Driver’s Seat, but again, my mum has great taste in books. And I promised I’ve give them both back when I see her in a couple of weeks… Get it here.
  5. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte.
    I started the audiobook at work this week because I’ve never been able to get past the first chapter. I found it really confusing which kind of annoyed me. People discuss this one, and have opinions about it and they usually don’t about classics (is it a love story? is it the most destructive romance ever? I want to know!). I thought I’d try it in a new medium, and the audiobook has got me hooked in. Now, I just want to finish it. I’m going to try reading it from the actual book, and see if I can still keep with it. My main problem at the moment is that I keep having to switch to Spotify to play the Kate Bush version.

I want to start reading more reviews, or critical work around the books I’m reading, so I’ll try to post articles about these when I’ve read them… Nerdiest #goals

Leave a Reply

